Explore the Latest IPL New News Here

Explore the Latest IPL New News Here
Explore the Latest IPL New News Here Image Source: Money Control


IPL, the Indian Premier League, is the king of cricket matches popular in India and one of the top leagues in the world. IPL is one of the reasons why cricket is the most watched and played sport in India. It has created a buzz among people, and now the fans can’t wait till the next league season. But before we enter the new season and cheer for our favorite teams, we must know everything that happened this season.

Although it is quite bizarre for people not to know about IPL, let’s first learn the meaning of IPL. IPL is a men’s cricket tournament played between ten teams. The teams in this season were – Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Punjab Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Rajasthan Royals. IPL new news was that two new additions were made to the list of teams – Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants. 

The teams for the game are found at the auction held before the games. Both Indian and overseas players can be a part of the games. This year’s auction took place on February 12 and February 13. 

Captains of the Teams

M.S. Dhoni captains Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals by Rishabh Pant, Gujrat Titans by Hardik Pandya, Kolkata Knight Riders by Shreyas Iyer, Lucknow Super Giants by KL Rahul, Mumbai Indians. 

The venue for this season was Maharashtra, India. Following were the stadiums in which the matches were held – Wankhede Stadium and Brabourne in Mumbai, DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, and MCA International Stadium in Pune. Two other stadiums outside of Maharashtra were also used. These stadiums were – Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

First Match of the Season

The first match of the season was between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders, and Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Chennai Super Kings by six wickets. Invited to bat, Chennai Super Kings rode on Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s unbeaten fifty and captain Ravindra Jadeja to manage a score of 131 for five wickets. This was the first match where Mahendra Singh Dhoni did not wear a captain’s band on his arm. He managed to hit seven fours and a six in his 38-ball innings.

In response to this, Kolkata Knight Riders overhauled the target by scoring 133 for four wickets in 18.3 overs. For KKR, Umesh Yadav snapped two wickets, while Varun Chakravarthy and Andre Russell also kept things in check as Chennai Super Kings found the going tough at Wankhede Stadium. 

Titles Won by Teams

Chennai Super Kings come after Mumbai Indians for winning titles. Out of the 13 seasons that have played, they have won 4 titles and five runner-ups. Kolkata Knight riders bagged two titles and one runner-up out of the 15 seasons they have been a part of. Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Gujarat Titans (who played for the first time) have bagged one title each. Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings, and Delhi Capitals have not yet had luck in getting the titles, but they have been to the qualifiers several times.


Every season players are given awards/titles on the basis of their performance during the season. Awards are: 

  • Orange cap – awarded to the player who scored maximum runs during the season. Jos Buttler scored 863 runs and won the cap.
  • Purple cap – awarded to that player who took the maximum number of wickets during the season. Yuzvendra Chahal bagged the cap for taking 27 wickets.
  • Fair play award – given at the end of the season to the team with the best record of fair play. Awarded to two teams – Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans.
  • Emerging player award – this year, this award was taken by Umran Malik.
  • Most sixes award – awarded to the player who hits the maximum sixes during the tournament. This award was awarded to Jos Buttler in 2021.

The Final Match of IPL 2022

On a packed Sunday night at the Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad, the Royals faced a tough time competing against the Titans in the finals of IPL 2022. But they went down fighting hard and gave us some nail-biting finishes and unforgettable memories. 

In their first IPL season, Gujarat Titans won not only the hearts but also the cup. Gujarat Titans stormed their way to the top of the table and then saved a spot in the finals by conquering the qualifiers. The Royal’s skipper, Sanju Samson, decided to bat first, but the decision did not turn out to be in their favor. 

One of the highlights of the match is that Lockie Ferguson, bowler of Gujarat Titans, clocked the fastest ball of the season at the final ball of the fifth over. 

Though the opening partnership of Yashaswi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler scored a high of 31 runs for Rajasthan Royals in 4 overs, things soon changed when captain Hardik Pandya sent some of his best bowlers.

Even though Jos Buttler bounced back with successive boundaries against Lockie Ferguson, he was taken down by the ball of Hardik Pandya. Another star player who tried to keep the Titans away from winning the title was Shubhman Gill. 

But he soon had to leave the field because of the fast bowler Yuzvendra Chahal after scoring 45 runs. Towards the end of the game, it was quite clear that only a miracle could save Rajasthan Royals. The IPL new news this season was that Gujarat Titans, a debutant team won the IPL 2022 title over Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets.

Wrapping Up

These were some of the IPL new news that happened in this year’s IPL tournament. The above-mentioned pieces of information must have alerted you about the happenings taking place around cricket. 

Know all about cricket news and updates at CBTF news. Get the fastest cricket news update at https://cbtfspeednews.com/

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF betting. Get the updated expert betting tips at https://cricketbettingtipsfree.com/.

Check out our videos to get the latest useful information about winning betting tips, casino tips, and expert opinions at CBTF Tube. Visit https://www.cbtfmytube.com/.

Twinkle jain

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to receive the weekly Newsletters from our website. Don’t worry, we won’t spam you.