What are 36 Gunas in Hindu Marriage?

What are 36 Gunas in Hindu Marriage
Spread the love

The word “Guna” comes from classical Sanskrit thought. An essential principle that is still followed in Hindu philosophy is guna. Also try, our online Kundali Matching! The Sattva, Raja, and Tama Gunas make up the three main Gunas. The Guna-Sattva promotes cooperation, goodness, harmony, peace, and a positive outlook. In their writings, the Guna-Rajas discuss fervor, activity, and a state of confusion. While the Guna-tamas speaks of turmoil, ruin, and darkness.

A Guna is difficult to categorize or describe in just one word. A Guna, however, originally meant a single thread. a single thread that would weave the individual’s capacity for action.

Before selecting men and women for a formal alliance, compatibility between them is determined through the interaction of the Gunas, which are used to quantify and predict a person’s traits.

Analyzing the compatibility of a potential couple is still a common practice today. There are 36 Gunas that the men and women are compared to and with one another for the purpose of awarding points. A marriage can be contemplated if the couple scores an 18 or if their personalities match one another.

How many gunas should match for marriage is an issue that is still asked.

A couple is deemed to be a perfect match if their score falls between 25 and 32. In rare instances, the pair is very compatible, and the number is higher than 32. When this occurs, the match is exceedingly auspicious and is interpreted as a message of kindness from the nakshatras.

Here are the 36 Gunas that are classified in the form of 8 Kootas (Ashtakootas). They are:


In the points table, this Guna can only receive a maximum of “1” point. The person’s caste determines their varna guna. If the applicant is of the caste Savarna or Hindu, he receives one point; otherwise, he receives zero points and is classified as an Avarna. Dalits and tribal people are categorized as avarnas, while castes like Kshatriya, Brahmin, Vyshya, and Sudra are termed savarnas.


Vasya is used to assess a couple’s compatibility. The five animal sects that make up the vasya classification of people are Chatushpada, Nara-Human, Jalchar, Vanacara, and Keeta.

Vasya assigns a compatibility score based on each person’s moon sign. Vasya has a maximum point allocation of 2 and a minimum point allocation of 0.

The maximum score is 2 if the man and woman seeking an alliance are from the same animal kingdom, 0 if they are from the opposing animal sect, 12 if they are Manav and Janvar, and 1 point for everyone else.


This Guna examines the prominence of the prospective couple’s birth stars. Hinduism takes 27 nakshatras into account while arranging a marriage alliance. Based on the birth star of the bride, the groom’s birth star is determined. Next, divide the total by 7. It is lucky if the value of the remainder is an even number.

Similar to how the guy’s birth star is used to determine the girl’s birth star. The remaining is noted after this sum is divided by nine.

If the remaining numbers are even, it is deemed lucky and this alliance receives three points. Additionally, they receive 1.5 points if one of their remainders is even while receiving 0 points if both of their remainders are odd. The phrase “Kundali Milan by date of birth” also applies to this.


Discussed in this koota is sexual compatibility. 14 different animals are assigned to Yoni in birth charts. They are a cow, a dog, a tiger, a cat, an elephant, a monkey, sheep, a deer, and a horse. The couple gets 4 points if they belong to the same animal group, and 0 points if they belong to rival sects. The Yoni get 3 points if they are seen as friendly. Similar to this, friendly yonis receive two points, whereas unfriendly yonis receive one point.

Grah Maitri:

By nakshatra, Grah Maitri is utilized to determine compatibility for marriage. In this, a celestial god is assigned during childbirth in accordance with the moon’s phase. These celestial lords can be allies, foes, or impartial. The match astrology receives 5 points if the Rashis are allies, but 0 points are awarded if they are foes. Four points are awarded when one lord is a friend and the other is neutral.


Temperament and rage are topics covered in the Gana Koota. They are divided into three groups based on their birth constellations: Deva (Gods), Manav (Humans), and Rakshasha (Demons). When the boy and the girl are Devas, six marriage points are awarded. If the guy is Deva and the girl is Manav, 5 points are awarded; if Deva and Rakshasa are combined, 1 point is awarded. Zero points are awarded whenever a Manav and a Rakshasa are combined.


The Koota Rashi computes romantic feelings. It is used to determine compatibility to look at the moon’s position. It is unlucky if the boy’s moon is 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 8 positions distant from the girl’s moon. The numbers seven and twelve are seen as particularly lucky.

Similar to the previous example, locations 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 are regarded as compatible and auspicious whereas position 12 away from the girl’s moon is not considered a positive indication. In the Gun Milan chart, Rashi receives a score of 7.


Hereditary and genetic issues are covered in the Koota Nadi. The boy and the girl are split into three groups based on the 27 stars. They go by the names Aadi, Madhya, and Pitta Nadi. If the guy and the girl have different Nadi kootas, they receive 8 points; if they have the same Nadi kootas, they receive 0 points.

Karma, however, also plays a significant influence in determining whether or not your marriage will be happy in addition to horoscope compatibility. No amount of compatibility will help in the absence of genuine communication and efforts from both partners. It takes sincere love and effort to make a marriage work with your partner.

Anjali Heera

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to receive the weekly Newsletters from our website. Don’t worry, we won’t spam you.