What is the Full Form of IPL?

Full Form of IPL
Image - Twitter | Full Form of IPL
Spread the love

Indian Premier League, popularly known as IPL, is one of the most celebrated T20 cricket leagues worldwide. Every year, the IPL season brings in a lot of excitement among cricket fans all around the world. But, have you ever wondered what the full form of IPL is? This article aims to provide you with a comprehensive guide to the full form of IPL, its history, IPL 2023 and some interesting facts about this cricket league.

IPL is a professional T20 cricket league that was established in India in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The IPL is a franchise-based league, which means that each team is owned by a franchise, and players are bought through an auction system.

History of IPL

The idea of IPL was first proposed by Lalit Modi, the then Vice President of the BCCI, in 2007. The first season of IPL was held in 2008, and it was an instant success. The tournament’s format was inspired by popular sports leagues such as the English Premier League and the National Basketball Association (NBA).

IPL is played every year during the months of April and May. The league is a unique blend of cricket, entertainment, and technology. IPL matches are played in the T20 format, which means that each team gets to play 20 overs. The league has eight franchises that represent different cities in India.

IPL 2023

Full Form of IPL
Image – The Quint

About IPL 2023

  • The IPL 2023 schedule has been released, and the tournament will take place from March 31 to May 28.
  • The opening match at the Narendra Modi Stadium will feature defending champions Gujarat Titans against Chennai Super Kings.
  • Apart from the ten host cities, Guwahati and Dharamshala will also host matches this year.
  • The match timings remain unchanged, with afternoon games starting at 3:30pm and evening games beginning at 7:30pm.
  • The teams have been split into two groups of five.
  • Group A comprises Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Lucknow Super Giants, and Delhi Capitals.
  • Group B features Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Titans, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Punjab Kings.
  • In the league stage, each team will play every other team from their group once, and will face all five teams from the other group twice.

Interesting Facts about IPL

  1. The IPL is one of the most-watched cricket leagues in the world, with a viewership of over 462 million people in 2020.
  2. The highest individual score in IPL is 175 not out, scored by Chris Gayle, playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013.
  3. The Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the IPL, with five titles to their name.
  4. The highest team total in IPL is 263/5, scored by Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in 2013.
  5. The IPL has attracted some of the world’s best cricketers, including Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson, and Sunil Narine.


In conclusion, the full form of IPL is the Indian Premier League, a professional T20 cricket league that has been played annually since 2008. The league has eight franchises representing different cities in India, and its matches are played in the T20 format. IPL is one of the most-watched cricket leagues worldwide, and it has attracted some of the world’s best cricketers. IPL is not just about cricket but also entertainment and technology, making it one of the most unique sporting events globally.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to receive the weekly Newsletters from our website. Don’t worry, we won’t spam you.