What is the full form of GDS?

Gramin Dak Sevak.
Image - Times of India | full form of gds Gramin Dak Sevak.

If you are searching for the full form of GDS, you have landed on the right page. In this article, we will discuss what GDS stands for, its meaning, and its usage.

What is the full form of GDS?

GDS stands for “Gramin Dak Sevak.” The word “Gramin” in Hindi means rural, and “Dak Sevak” means Postal Servant. GDS is a postal service in India that operates in rural areas. These postal servants provide a range of services to the people living in remote areas of India.

What is the meaning of GDS?

The Gramin Dak Sevak is a part of the Indian Postal Service that provides a variety of postal services to the rural population. GDS is responsible for delivering letters, parcels, and money orders in remote areas where the regular postal service cannot reach. Apart from that, GDS also provides other services like the sale of postage stamps, postcards, envelopes, etc.

What are the different types of GDS?

There are three types of GDS services:

  1. Branch Postmaster (BPM)
  2. Assistant Branch Postmaster (ABPM)
  3. Dak Sevak

BPM is responsible for managing the GDS branch, and ABPM assists the BPM in managing the branch. Dak Sevak is responsible for delivering letters, parcels, and other postal services.

What are the eligibility criteria to become a GDS?

To become a Gramin Dak Sevak, one must fulfill the following eligibility criteria:

  1. The candidate must be between 18-40 years of age.
  2. The candidate must have passed 10th standard from a recognized board.
  3. The candidate must have basic computer knowledge.
  4. The candidate must have knowledge of the local language of the area where he/she is applying.

What are the benefits of GDS?

The benefits of being a Gramin Dak Sevak are:

  1. Job security
  2. Good salary package
  3. Opportunity to serve the rural population
  4. Job flexibility


In conclusion, GDS stands for “Gramin Dak Sevak.” It is a postal service that operates in rural areas of India. GDS provides a range of services to the rural population, including the delivery of letters, parcels, and money orders. There are three types of GDS services, namely Branch Postmaster, Assistant Branch Postmaster, and Dak Sevak. To become a GDS, one must fulfill the eligibility criteria, including age, education, computer knowledge, and knowledge of the local language. Being a GDS offers job security, good salary, and the opportunity to serve the rural population.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to receive the weekly Newsletters from our website. Don’t worry, we won’t spam you.